How to Become an Electrician in Wyoming, WY

Check Electrician Schools in Wyoming, WY

As it happens in the majority of the states, every person performing electrical work in the State of Wyoming has to be properly licensed and working for a licensed contractor.

The following licenses are available:

Please bear in mind that the State of Wyoming adopts the National Electrical Code without modification. The examinations for licenses are based on the current edition of the National Electrical Code.

Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety

The licensing process for electricians in Wyoming is overlooked and administered by the Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety, under the State Fire Marshal’s Office. The Board adopts rules and regulations to implement the licensing of master electricians, journeyman electricians, low voltage technicians, limited technicians, temporary permits, reciprocal licenses, the registering of apprentice electricians and apprentice technicians. The board makes sure that electrical installations are performed only by licensed electricians. They also determine criminal penalties and other remedies. You may contact the board at:

Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety
Herschler Building
122 W. 25th Street, 1 West
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7288
Fax: (307) 777-7119
http://wyofire.state.wy.us/

Wyoming Master Electrician License Requirements and Process

In order to be eligible to take the Wyoming Master electrician’s exam, you will have to provide proof of 8 years (16,000 hours) of work experience in the electrical wiring industry, of which 4 years (8,000 hours) is documented as a licensed journeyman, AND 576 hours of electrically related classroom instruction.

You may find the master electrician license application form here.

The work history must include evidence of experience in planning, laying out, and NEC and shall have been under the direct supervision of a qualifying electrician for a licensed electrical contractor. Electrical work experience is to consist of electrical installation in residential, commercial, and industrial categories.

The schooling experience shall be documented by official transcripts, which indicate the number of credit hours or the actual number of classroom hours of the electrically related courses. Work experience shall be documented by notarized letters or the enclosed employment verification form from employers (past and present), notarized letters from local unions, or official letters from other licensing boards detailing the duration (actual number of hours) and character of the work.

Please note that as a Master electrician performing electrical work in the State of Wyoming, you will have to be employed at all times by an electrical contractor who carries a current Wyoming electrical contractor’s license.

You may find a copy of the ICC Examination Information Bulletin online here.

Once you have been approved for examination, you will receive a letter of approval from the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety which will include a phone number for Pearson Vue, the testing company. You will then be responsible to contact them for exam information and arranging the exam fees. After those have been done, you will be able to schedule to sit for the exam.

After passing the exam, the initial license fee is $200.

Your master electrician license shall be valid for 3 years, renewing on July 1st of every third year. You may find more information about the license renewal process here and the reciprocal agreements here.

Finally, don’t forget to check Electrician Jobs in Wyoming.

Wyoming Journeyman Electrician License Requirements and Process

In order to be eligible to take the Wyoming Journeyman electrician’s exam, you will have to provide proof of 4 years (8,000 hours) of work experience in the electrical wiring industry AND 144 hours per year, or 576 hours over a four year apprenticeship, of successfully completed electrically related classroom instruction obtained through approved electrical apprenticeship training programs.

The work history must include evidence of experience in planning, laying out, and NEC and shall have been under the direct supervision of a qualifying electrician for a licensed electrical contractor. Electrical work experience is to consist of electrical installation in residential, commercial, and industrial categories. No more than 75% of the 4 years (8,000 hours) may be in any one category. Up to 2 years (4,000 hours) credit may be given for study of electrically related courses taken through an accredited school exceeding the 576 hours required. For electrical experience gained in the military to be considered, you must include a copy of your DD-214 form with this application.

You may find the journeyman electrician license application form here.

The schooling experience shall be documented by official transcripts, which indicate the number of credit hours or the actual number of classroom hours of the electrically related courses. Work experience shall be documented by notarized letters or the enclosed employment verification form from employers (past and present), notarized letters from local unions, or official letters from other licensing boards detailing the duration (actual number of hours) and character of the work.

Please note that as a Journeyman electrician performing electrical work in the State of Wyoming, you will have to be employed at all times by an electrical contractor who carries a current Wyoming electrical contractor’s license.

You may find a copy of the ICC Examination Information Bulletin online here.

Once you have been approved for examination, you will receive a letter of approval from the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety which will include a phone number for Pearson Vue, the testing company. You will then be responsible to contact them for exam information and arranging the exam fees. After those have been done, you will be able to schedule to sit for the exam.

After passing the exam, the initial license fee is $100.

Your journeyman electrician license shall be valid for 3 years, renewing on January 1st of every third year. You may find more information about the license renewal process here and the reciprocal agreements here.

Finally, don’t forget to check Electrician Jobs in Wyoming.

Wyoming Low level / Limited Technician License Requirements and Process

In order to be eligible to take the Wyoming Limited/Low Voltage technician exam, you will have to provide proof of 2 years (4,000 hours) of training which must have been obtained through work relating to the category of low voltage or limited technician license being applied.

This application must be accompanied by notarized letters from past or present employers indicating the experience and type of work and the number of hours of on-the-job training and the enclosed employment verification form. For electrical experience gained in the military to be considered, you must include a copy of your DD-214 form with this application.

You may find the technician license application form here.

A low voltage technician is a person licensed by the Department who has experience in the portion of the electrical wiring industry covered by his low voltage license and technical knowledge to install and supervise the installation of electrical equipment associated with the type of low voltage electrical license held in accordance with the National Electrical Code and city, county and state ordinances and regulations.

Low voltage technician licenses are available in the following categories:

  • LV-G: Low voltage work for all categories under 90 volts
  • LV-A: Low voltage work for alarm systems under 90 volts
  • LV-C: Low voltage work for communication systems under 90 volts
  • LV-S: Low voltage work for sound systems under 90 volts
  • LV-T: Low voltage work for television and satellite systems under 90 volts
  • LV-X: Low voltage work for control systems under 90 volts
  • LV-LS: Low voltage work for lawn sprinkler systems under 90 volts

A limited technician is a person licensed by the Department who has experience in the portion of the electrical wiring industry covered by his limited license and technical knowledge to install and supervise the installation of electrical equipment associated with the type of limited electrical license held in accordance with the National Electrical Code and city, county and state ordinances and regulations.

Limited technician licenses are available in the following categories:

  • LM-E: Electrical work for elevator systems limited to electrical work on the load side of the equipment disconnect
  • LM-S: Electrical work for electric signs limited to electrical work on the load side of the equipment disconnect
  • LM-W: Electrical work for water well and irrigation systems limited to electrical work on the load side of the equipment disconnect
  • LM-L: Limited electrical work for maintaining light fixtures
  • LM-H: Limited electrical work for heating, ventilating and air conditioning systems limited to electrical work on the load side of the equipment disconnect

Please note that as a technician electrician performing electrical work in the State of Wyoming, you will have to be employed at all times by a limited/low voltage electrical contractor who carries a current Wyoming limited/low voltage electrical contractor’s license.

You may find a copy of the ICC Examination Information Bulletin online here.

Once you have been approved for examination, you will receive a letter of approval from the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety which will include a phone number for Pearson Vue, the testing company. You will then be responsible to contact them for exam information and arranging the exam fees. After those have been done, you will be able to schedule to sit for the exam.

After passing the exam, the initial license fee is $100.

Your master electrician license shall be valid for 3 years, renewing on July 1st of every third year. You may find more information about the license renewal process here.

Finally, don’t forget to check Electrician Jobs in Wyoming.

Wyoming Electrical Contractor License Requirements and Process

An electrical contractor is any person, firm, co-partnership, corporation, association, or combination thereof who contracts or offers to contract for another the planning, laying out, supervising, and installation of additions, alterations, and repairs, or the installation of wiring, apparatus and equipment for electric light, heat, and power. All work done under the conditions above shall be under the direction and supervision of a master electrician who is actively and solely employed by the contractor.

In order to obtain the electrical contractor license, you will have to complete the “Application for Electrical Contractor’s License” and the “Master Acknowledgment of Responsibility Form” in full. Date, sign, notarize, and return both forms to this office with the required fee for review and approval to the Department.

You may find the electrical contractor license application form here.

Please note that every employee of an electrical contractor performing electrical work in the State of Wyoming will be required to be licensed as a master or journeyman electrician, hold a valid temporary work permit as a journeyman, or be registered as an apprentice electrician.

The initial fee for electrical contractor’s license & renewal is $400. The renewal fee is on a yearly basis on or before July 1, and is $400. You may find more information about the license renewal process here.

As an electrical contractor, you may employ apprentice electricians to assist a licensed journeyman or master electrician. Apprentice electricians working for an electrical contractor in the State of Wyoming must be registered with the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety within 10 days of hire. You may not employ more than two apprentices for each licensed journeyman or master electrician on the job site.

Finally, don’t forget to check Electrician Jobs in Wyoming.

Wyoming Low Voltage / Limited Contractor License Requirements and Process

A low voltage electrical contractor is defined as a person, partnership or corporation who contracts with another to perform low voltage electrical work, limited to electrical wiring under 90 volts, in the State of Wyoming. Any such contractor shall make application for an applicable license.

A limited electrical contractor is a person, partnership or corporation who contracts with another to perform limited electrical work, limited to electrical work on the load side of the equipment disconnect for certain electrical systems, in the State of Wyoming. Any such contractor shall make application for an applicable license.

In order to obtain the low voltage electrical contractor or limited electrical contractor license, you will have to complete the “Application for Low Voltage or Limited Electrical Contractor’s License” and the “Technician Acknowledgment of Responsibility form” in full. Date, sign, notarize and return both forms to this office for review and approval to the Department.

You may find the low voltage / limited contractor application form here.

Please note that every employee of a low voltage/limited electrical contractor performing electrical work in the State of Wyoming will be required to be licensed as a low voltage or limited technician, hold a valid temporary low voltage or limited technician work permit, or be registered as a low voltage or limited apprentice technician.

The initial fee for electrical contractor’s license & renewal is $200. The renewal fee is on a yearly basis on or before July 1, and is $200. You may find more information about the license renewal process here.

As a low voltage/limited contractor, you may employ low voltage/limited technicians and low voltage/limited apprentices with license classifications specific only to the classification of license you have applied for, with the exception of employing journeyman or master electricians. Apprentice technicians working for an electrical contractor in the State of Wyoming must be registered with the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety within 10 days of hire. You may not employ more than one apprentice technician for each licensed low voltage or limited technician on the job site.

Finally, don’t forget to check Electrician Jobs in Wyoming.

Wyoming Apprentice Electrician Registration Requirements and Process

In order to be able to register as an apprentice electrician, you will have to work four (4) years, a minimum of 8000 hours under the direct supervision of a licensed journeyman or master electrician. Additionally, you shall have to get enrolled in related training program.

You will have to be employed in the electrical trade and get registered and licensed with the Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety within ten (10) days from date of employment. You shall then carry a current registration certificate at all times and present it upon request to personnel of the Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety for examination.

You shall re-register prior to September 1 of each year, furnishing proof of required instruction and work experience performed during the previous years of employment with notarized letters or the enclosed employment verification form from your current employer and a certificate of achievement from the related training program you have attended. Experience that has already been documented in our office from previous employment or schooling does not need to be proven again. You will have to complete at least 2,000 hours of on the job training and successfully complete 144 hours of related training before you can advance to the next level of your apprenticeship.

The apprentice registration and renewal come both with a fee of $20. You may find more information about the license renewal process here.

You may find the apprentice electrician registration form here.

Finally, don’t forget to check Electrician Jobs in Wyoming.

Wyoming Apprentice Technician Registration Requirements and Process

In order to be able to register as an apprentice technician electrician, you will have to work two (2) years, a minimum of 4000 hours under the direct supervision of a licensed technician, journeyman or master electrician. Additionally, you shall have to get enrolled in related training program.

You will have to be employed in the electrical trade and get registered and licensed with the Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety within ten (10) days from date of employment. You shall then carry a current registration certificate at all times and present it upon request to personnel of the Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety for examination.

You shall re-register prior to September 1 of each year, furnishing proof of required instruction and work experience performed during the previous years of employment with notarized letters or the enclosed employment verification form from your current employer and a certificate of achievement from the related training program you have attended. Experience that has already been documented in our office from previous employment or schooling does not need to be proven again. You will have to complete at least 2,000 hours of on the job training before you can advance to the next level of your apprenticeship.

The apprentice technician registration and renewal come both with a fee of $20. You may find more information about the license renewal process here.

You may find the apprentice technician registration form here.

Finally, don’t forget to check Electrician Jobs in Wyoming.

Wyoming Reciprocal Electrician License Agreements

The State of Wyoming is Reciprocal with the Journeyman Electrician License in the following states:

Arkansas

  • Colorado
  • South Dakota
  • New Hampshire
  • Oregon
  • Minnesota
  • Texas
  • Idaho
  • Nebraska
  • Montana
  • Utah
  • New Mexico
  • Maine

The reciprocal application form can be found here.

In order to be eligible for a reciprocal journeyman electrician license, you must have obtained your license by examination with a score of 70% or more, and have held your license for at least one year. You will have to provide an application form signed and notarized, along with a copy of your license and a check or money order made out to the “State of Wyoming” for $100.

The State of Wyoming is Reciprocal with the Master Electrician License in the following states:

  • Idaho
  • South Dakota
  • Utah

In order to be eligible for a reciprocal master electrician license, you must have obtained your license by examination with a score of 75% or more, and have held your license for at least one year. You will have to provide an application form signed and notarized, along with a copy of your license and a check or money order made out to the “State of Wyoming” for $200.

The reciprocal application form can be found here.

Wyoming Electrician License Renewal / Continuing Education

It is mandatory to periodically renew your license in order to be able to continue doing electrical work.

Master and Journeyman electricians are also required to provide 16 hours of continuing education (eight of them has to be code). You may find a list of Continuing Education Classes approved by the Board at this page.

For contractor licenses, the officer or owner of the company completes the application, signs it, and has the signature notarized. Additionally, the Master of Record completes the Master of Acknowledgment of Responsibility form, signs it, and has the signature notarized.

In order to find out when your license expires, please visit the Board’s license renewal page here and choose the appropriate type of license.

You will have to complete the renewal form that you will find online, send proof of continuing education (for master and journeyman electricians), such as a copy of your certificates from classes you attended, and a check or money order payable to “State of Wyoming” for the relevant fee to the following address:

Department of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety
Attn: Master Renewal
Herschler Bldg. – 1 West
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0410

The renewal fees are as follows:

  • Master Electrician: $100
  • Journeyman Electrician: $50
  • Technician: $50
  • Electrical Contractor: $400
  • Low Voltage & Limited Electrical Contractor: $200
  • Electrical Apprentice: $20
  • Low Voltage/Limited Apprentice Technician: $20

If you do not renew your license on time, the State of Wyoming allows a 45 day grace period with an additional $50.00 penalty fee. If you do not renew by the grace period, you will have to retake the exams.

For more information or questions regarding the renewal process, you may call directly at 307-777-7288.

The above apply for the following largest cities (among others):
CheyenneCasperLaramieGilletteRock Springs
SheridanGreen RiverEvanstonRivertonJackson
CodyRawlinsLanderTorringtonPowell
DouglasRanchettesWorlandBuffaloSouth Greeley
© 2012 ELECTRICIAN TRAINING – Powered Electrician. All rights reserved.